Your African Private guide.



Xavier safaris company organizes safaris to Tanzania is an East African country known for its vast wilderness areas. They include the plains of Serengeti National Park, a safari mecca populated by the “big five” game (elephant, lion, leopard, buffalo, rhino), and Kilimanjaro National Park, home to Africa’s highest mountain. Offshore lie the tropical islands of Zanzibar, with Arabic influences, and Mafia, with a marine park home to whale sharks and coral reefs.

What is Tanzania famous for?

Tanzania is well-known country in East Africa. A country that has become synonymous with the Serengeti National park, Ngorongoro crater, Lake Manyara, Mount Kilimanjaro, and Zanzibar. People from all over the world flock to Tanzania to have a safari in some of the best national parks in the world.

National parks of Tanzania

Serengeti National park

The Serengeti ecosystem is a geographical region in Africa, spanning northern Tanzania. The protected area within the region includes approximately 30,000 km² of land, including the Serengeti National Park and several game reserves. It is best known for its huge herds of plains animals (especially gnu [wildebeests], gazelles, and zebras), and Serengeti and Masai Mara are the only places in Africa where vast land-animal migrations still take place. The park, an international tourist attraction, was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List in 1981.

Animals of Serengeti National park


Serengeti national park is home to over 3000 lions which is said to be the largest population of lions in Africa. The national park has about 300 lion prides which can be seen during a safari around the endless plains at the destination. Lions are the second largest cats in the world, next to tigers. Unlike other cats, they are very social animals and live in groups called “Prides”, lions are spread all over Africa,

  Two male lions at Serengeti National ParkA cub and a male lion at Serengeti National Park Tanzania


Leopards are also part of the big 5 of Serengeti national park and are known for their ability to hide by using camouflage. Serengeti national park has about 1000 leopards and can be identified by their spotted coats. The leopards during a safari around Serengeti national park can be seen among the trees.



Elephant populations in Serengeti National Park has increased from 6,000 in 2014 to more than 7,000 in 2020, according to the Tanzania Wildlife Research Institute (TAWIRI). D.r Robert Fyumagwa, a senior researcher.



The African buffalo is a large sub-Saharan African bovine. Syncerus caffer caffer, the Cape buffalo, is the typical subspecies, and the largest one, found in Southern and East Africa. In the Serengeti national Park, buffaloes come in very healthy numbers: there’s a good chance you’ll see herds with over 1,000 or more of these thrilling animals.


 Black Rhino: Although  rarely spotted.

Black rhinos are the smaller of the two African rhino species. The most notable difference between white and black rhinos are their hooked upper lip. This distinguishes them from the white rhino, which has a square lip. Black rhinos are browsers rather than grazers, and their pointed lip helps them feed on leaves from bushes and trees. They have two horns, and occasionally a third, small posterior horn.




Coke’s Hartebeest a.k.a Kongoni

TheCoke’s hartebeest, also known as kongoni or kaama, is an African antelope. It is the only member of the genus Alcelaphus. Eight subspecies have been described, including two sometimes considered to be independent species.

Coke's hartebeest at the savanna plains of Serengeti national park Tanzania  Coke's hartebeest at the savanna plains of Serengeti national park Tanzania

 Grant’s gazelle

Grant’s gazelle is a species of gazelle distributed from northern Tanzania to South Sudan and Ethiopia, and from the Kenyan coast to Lake Victoria. Its Swahili name is swala granti. It was named for a 19th-century British explorer, James Grant.


The wildebeest is a member of the antelope family. They have a large, box-like head with curving horns. The front end of their body is heavily built, while the hindquarters are slender with spindly legs. They have a gray coat and a black mane as well as a beard that can be black or white.


The Ngorongoro crater national park

The main feature of the Ngorongoro Conservation Authority is the Ngorongoro Crater, the world’s largest inactive, intact and unfilled volcanic. While the grasslands of the Serengeti may be Tanzania’s most iconic destination, the Ngorongoro Crater might be the country’s most stunning place. The 100-square mile volcanic crater is the largest in the world and has been nicknamed Africa’s “eighth wonder of the world.” Standing proudly in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area of Tanzania is the Ngorongoro Crater. This highly visited African attraction is the world’s largest inactive, unbroken and unfilled volcanic caldera.



Animals of Ngorongoro Crater

Animals in Ngorongoro were just trapped after descending down to the crater and could not come out again and this made them multiply within the crater. Currently all the African big 5 can be seen in Ngorongoro crater like the black Rhinos, Elephants, Lions, Buffalos and Leopards.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *